Cultural Observations of Digital Life – ‘Digital Girl’ Remix (part 1)

(Part 1 of 2)

My fascination with American Cultural Studies, pop culture, and hip-hop has led me to analyze a lot of songs over the years.  When I first heard the ‘Digital Girl’ remix by Jamie Foxx, Drake, The Dream, and Kanye West, I immediately saw the window of opportunity to highlight one of the song’s verses for its clever use of technological references to digital life in 2009, digitally influenced relationships, and hip-hop culture.

Looking at Drake’s verse on the song, we quickly see how hip-hop has risen as a unique art form because of its lyrical creativity and honest observations, braggadocious nature, metaphors, double entendres, and hypnotic beats.  To the average ear, this song (and accompanying video) is (on the surface) just “another ego filled rap song promoting sexual promiscuity while depicting females as sex objects” – – – as often commented on by hip hop critics…

To me, if you peel back the surface and simply look at the lyrical structure and message, you see a very clever depiction of dating/flirting/sex in the 21st century.  This is definitely an instance of art imitating life as the artists tell their own (and millions of other peoples’) stories about living a digitized life in 2009…

[DRAKE]
Who’s that peeking in my window? (Uhh)
You should let some more skin show
And if one of these websites get the info
We can work it out, no Nintendo
I just hit Alt / Tab
Switchin’ in-between two convos
I should just call cabs
And bring ‘em both here to the condo (Yeah)
Normally, it ain’t a question
We would cross paths like an intersection
But she just too far away for affection
So I pray that we never lose the connection
‘Cause I remember Stacy, she probably hate me
She used to threaten she had a man to replace me
She talked that shit, I just hit the Escape key
And then she’d get mad and want to go and erase me
I remember Amy, she used to AIM me
She stayed up late, and used to blame me
She say I’m too wild, she wanna tame me
I told her ‘Even Photoshop couldn’t change me’
But you/you/you – You got me open girl, why lie?
We ain’t even tryin’ to settle, so why try?
End the night with a kiss and a ‘bye-bye’
No strings attached your love is so WiFi

***See part 2 below for further analysis of the song

Still not convinced digital technology has changed the way we live and look at our lives?  Check out Chris Rock’s observation about how/where we spend our money these days.

HAHAHA

~ by Adam Maikkula on December 5, 2009.

One Response to “Cultural Observations of Digital Life – ‘Digital Girl’ Remix (part 1)”

  1. Love it bro-There are lists floating all over about how rappers talk about tech, anything from gaming to mobile communications to twitter/FB/myspace.

    Not to mention its a pretty good song

Leave a Reply

 
