Rhonda Britten and Finnish Sisu on The Big Idea

I randomly came across Rhonda Britten here on The Big Idea with Donny Deutsch back in 2007 and was immediately interested in this episode once I heard her say she was Finnish.  The first thing that I thought of was how much she reminded me of some of my own Finnish relatives.  Rhonda displayed Sisu telling her story and has clearly “brought the sisu” throughout her life.  She has a very unique life story, and because of it, is helping others live their lives to the fullest through her Fearless Living Institute.

There was a very unique confidence and (fierce) level of independence that I quickly recognized in her as I flipped through the television channels that night…Once she caught my attention and I decided to continue to watch the show, it got to the part where Rhonda mentioned that she was Finnish and that, “if you know the Finnish people, we cut off our arm and go ‘What arm? What’s your problem?'”.  So true!

~ by Adam Maikkula on January 14, 2010.

One Response to “Rhonda Britten and Finnish Sisu on The Big Idea”

  1. Interesting interview but sadly it made me think of the tragic high level of suicide among Finns as much as Rhonda Britten’s remarkable resilience (her ‘sisu’) in coming through. I’ve been thinking a lot about this word ‘sisu’ and just wondering how it should be translated (the English words ‘guts’, ‘determination’ etc don’t seem quite right somehow.) But I’m also wondering whether in a way, this Finnish national character of silently enduring adversity is also a weakness that leads to bottled up emotion coming out in other ways like violence and alcoholism.

Leave a Reply

 
